top of page
  • Writer's pictureZainab

How to Prepare for an Interview

Updated: Mar 16, 2021

You submitted the application you worked on for several (weeks) nights. You (im)patiently wait to hear the outcome. You refresh your emails every (minute) day. And finally you hear from the firm and you get invited for an interview!!


Usually, there are several stages in the application process and every stage is just as important as the previous. An interview can be quite daunting but the key is preparation! Nobody is "just good" at interviews - everyone prepares, anticipates questions and practices some answers.


Although the current situation will not allow for face-to-face interviews, the preparation for a video interview or telephone call will generally be the same and so I thought I would share my approach.


I have been to a few interviews and the feedback I receive is really good and I believe that this comes down to the preparation I do for the interview and confidence I display whilst answering questions and engaging in conversation. Most of the time, interviewers will start by easing you into the process and tell you that they try to make these conversational instead of rigid and too formal. Being able to adapt to this takes practice.


Preparation

To prepare for my interviews, I create 2 documents which really help me:

  1. Competency grid - this will help for all your interviews and once you have created it, keep adding to it and updating using new experiences and skills learnt

  2. Firm-specific grid - this is the research I undertake on the firm in a one-doc-grid which really helps focus my research, remember the information and maintain organisation.

Below are templates of my 2 grids. I have included basic guidelines on how to fill them out and inserted examples and the skills shown with each competency:


Competency grid

Below is my template - you can add more competency skills in the first column. In the experience example, think about your various experiences and what it is specifically that shows the competency. Lastly, list the skills shown that demonstrate the competency which are useful words you can include in your applications and during interview. You can download the template here.


Firm-specific grid

This is based on the research I have done on the firm when applying to the firm and in preparation for the interview. It is mainly for my own understanding and getting to know the firm so the picture is complete. You can add or remove to this table as you see fit. You can download the template here.



331 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page